Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Hamilton Scholars > Launch

The Hamilton Scholars Launch

Professor Stefan Sint (Supervisor), Argia Rubeo (Hamilton Scholar), Professor Clive Williams (Faculty Dean) and Professor Sinead Ryan (Head of School of Mathematics)

The launch of the Hamilton Scholars took place on October 30th, 2014 in conjunction with the 12th Annual Synge Lecture. The launch was attended by the inaugural Hamilton Scholar, Argia Rubeo.

The aim of the Hamilton Scholars is to produce a cohort of exceptional PhD students whose work is expected to have a significant international impact in their chosen area of specialisation. The Hamilton Scholars focuses on fields where Trinity plays a leading role internationally such as Algebra and Number Theory, Analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Quantum Field Theory, Lattice Quantum Chromodynamics and String Theory.

Professor Sinead Ryan (Head of School of Mathematics), Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Professor Emeritus Petros Florides, Argia Rubeo (Hamilton Scholar), Professor John Stalker (Director of Postgraduate Teaching and Learning, School of Mathematics)