Geometry and combinatorics of associativity

Venue and dates:

Hamilton Mathematics Institute (HMI), Trinity College Dublin, October 23-27, 2017.

We gratefully acknowledge support of the HMI, the Simons Foundation, and Science Foundation Ireland.

Description of the workshop:

Since the pioneer work of Tamari (Tamari lattice) in the 1950s and Stasheff (associativity up to homotopy) in the 1960s, it has been very apparent that the combinatorics and the geometry of associativity underpin a wide range of contexts in pure mathematics. More recently, associahedra and related polytopes have been arising in a number of research areas which at a first glance appear far apart from each other (cluster theory, combinatorics, group theory, quiver representations, symplectic geometry, toric geometry).

The purpose of this workshop is to gather together experts in some of these areas who will give lectures and mini-courses to establish a common context in which connections between various research direction can be fruitfully discussed, and the missing links between them can be unravelled.

Invited speakers:

Tom Brady, Dublin City University (Ireland)
Frédéric Chapoton, University of Strasbourg (France)
Patrick Dehornoy, University of Caen (France)
Stefan Forcey, University of Akron (USA)
Mikhail Kapranov, Kavli IPMU (Japan)
Yuri I. Manin, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics (Germany)
Martin Markl, Institute of Mathematics, Czech Academy of Science (Czech Republic)
Vincent Pilaud, École Polytechnique (France)
Jim Stasheff*, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (USA)

* video lecture

An animated 3D associahedron, by Andy Tonks
(from the homepage of Jean-Louis Loday)


Vladimir Dotsenko (HMI/TCD)
Victoria Lebed (HMI/TCD)

Registration and financial support:

Registration is now closed.

List of registered participants:

  1. Nicholas Aidoo, Trinity College Dublin
  2. Norah Mohammed Alghamdi,Trinity College Dublin
  3. Paul Barry, Waterford Institute of Technology
  4. Thomas Brady, Dublin City University
  5. Frédéric Chapoton, University of Strasbourg
  6. Pierre-Louis Curien, CNRS - Université Paris Diderot - INRIA
  7. Patrick Dehornoy, University of Caen
  8. Vladimir Dotsenko, Trinity College Dublin
  9. Stefan Forcey, University of Akron
  10. Jelena Ivanovic, University of Belgrade
  11. Natalia Iyudu, University of Edinburgh
  12. Mikhail Kapranov, Kavli IPMU
  13. Victoria Lebed, Trinity College Dublin
  14. Jianrong Li, Weizmann Institute of Science
  15. Fosco Loregian, Masaryk University, Brno
  16. Yuri I. Manin, MPIM Bonn
  17. Martin Markl, Math. Institute of the Academy, Prague
  18. Naruki Masuda, University of Tokyo
  19. Paul-André Mellies, CNRS, Université Paris Diderot
  20. Sergey Mozgovoy, Trinity College Dublin
  21. Andreea Nicoara, Trinity College Dublin
  22. Daniel Robert-Nicoud, Université Paris 13, Sorbonne Paris Cité
  23. Jovana Obradovic, Charles University, Prague
  24. Vincent Pilaud, École Polytechnique
  25. Cristina Martinez Ramirez, Dublin Business School
  26. Julian Ritter, École Polytechnique
  27. María Ronco, University of Talca
  28. Jim Stasheff, UNC Chapel Hill and University of Pennsylvania
  29. Pedro Tamaroff, Trinity College Dublin
  30. Bruno Vallette, Université Paris 13
  31. Dmitri Zaitsev, Trinity College Dublin


A poster in the PDF format is available here; feel free to disseminate!

Statement of inclusiveness:

This event is open to all interested mathematicians, regardless of race, sex, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, age, pregnancy, immigration status, or any other aspect of identity.