Minutes of the Irish Mathematical Society Annual General Meeting University College Dublin, 20 December 2016

Present: P. Barry, C. Boyd, S. Buckley, L. Creedon, S. Dineen,

E. Gill, J. Gleeson, J.M. Golden, B. Goldsmith, M. Golitsyna, R. Higgs,

- T. Hurley, K. Hutchinson, T. Laffey, G. Lessells, R. Levene, P. Lynch,
- M. Mac an Airchinnigh, D. Malone, P. Mellon, B. Murphy,
- M. Newell, G. Ó Calhaín, A.G. O'Farrell, J. O'Shea, M. OReilly,
- G. Pfeiffer, R. Ryan, H. Smigoc, N. Snigireva, C. Stack,

R.M. Timoney.

Apologies: C. Hills, B. Kreussler, O. Mason, M. Mathieu, C. Mulcahy, E. Oldham, R. Quinlan.

The meeting began at 15:40.

(1) Minutes

Minutes of the last meeting were accepted.

(2) Matters Arising

- The next meeting has been confirmed for the 31st August and 1st September, thanks to Leo.
- The location for the 2018 scientific meeting will probably follow the tradition of being hosted by the outgoing president, so it will most likely be held in UCD.

(3) Correspondence

A letter from the EMS with birthday wishes for the society was read. Other correspondence concerned elections, and will be dealt with under that agenda item.

(4) 40 Year Members

The society provided a small token to those who had been original members of the society and were still members today.

T. Hurley presented his records of early society meetings to the society. M. Newell noted that he had once been drafted as treasurer and accidently discovered that some members were happy to pay multiple times per year!

(5) Membership Applications

Membership applications had been approved for A. Cronin (UCD), C. Larkin (Clonmel), R. Osburn (UCD), N. Pantelidis (WIT), A. O'Brien (NUIG), D. Degrijse (NUIG) and H. Render (UCD).

(6) President's report

The president gave a brief summary of his report, full details of which can be found in the Bulletin. The big item was the 40th Anniversary of the society. Another important item was the positive correspondence with the Royal Irish Academy's Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences Committee.

R.M. Timoney and V. Dotsenko were thanked for hosting the September meeting of the society. The president had also attended the EMS meeting and found it useful for keeping in contact with other European Societies. Other conferences supported by the society were also listed.

The society now also tweets!

C. Stack thanked the president for his work in recognising the long-term members of the society.

(7) Treasurer's report

The treasurer's reports were accepted, with thanks to the Treasurer.

(8) Bulletin

A. O'Farrell thanked the various groups that helped with production, including the Editorial board, G. Lessells (printing) and R.M. Timoney (website). The Bulletin particularly welcomes articles from members and those with an Irish connection. He encouraged the submission of Thesis Reports and articles of all types.

(9) Educational Subcommittee

- This subcommittee was established approximately two years ago, thanks to efforts by C. Stack and M. Mac an Airchinnigh.
- The committee is discussing 'Item 4(a)', which concerns what can be done at third level to smooth the transition for those coming from second level. There is a proposal to draw the attention of those at third level to encourage the provision of a smooth transition, and provide a short web page with links to material that documents current practice at second level. After a discussion about who should be targeted and what information should be linked to, this proposal was accepted.
- The European Mathematics Education Conference is being held in Dublin in February, organised by a group in

DCU. This is the largest event on third level mathematics education.

(10) Elections

- The society rotates its secretary and treasurer in even years, and its president and vice-president in odd years, so there is an election for president and vice-president at this meeting.
- Nominations had been received for S. Buckley and C. Stack for president. A nomination had also been received for P. Mellon for vice-president and for D. Mackey for a general committee position, if one arose. No further nominations were received from the floor.
- Brendan Murphy, of UCD statistics, was nominated to act as returning officer for the election.
- S. Buckley and C. Stack both addressed the floor for $3 + \epsilon$ minutes. After a ballot, S. Buckley was elected as president.
- The uncontested positions were made unanimously.
- Thanks were extended to the committee for running the election and to all candidates for putting themselves forward.
- Old Committee: M. Mackey (President), S. Buckley (Vice-President), D. Malone (Secretary), G. Pfeiffer (Treasurer),
 P. Barry, J. Gleeson, B. Kreussler, R. Levene, M. Mac an Airchinnigh, M. Mathieu, A. Mustata, J. O'Shea.
- New Committee: S. Buckley (President), P. Mellon (Vice-President), D. Malone (Secretary), G. Pfeiffer (Treasurer),
 P. Barry, J. Gleeson, B. Kreussler, R. Levene, M. Mac an Airchinnigh, D. Mackey, A. Mustata, J. O'Shea.

(11) **AOB**

- The Fergus Gaines Cup will be presented at P. Lynch's talk this evening.
- E. Gill noted that C. Mulcahy has made a 2017 Irish Mathematics calendar. Copies are being distributed.
- C. Stack expressed concern about low levels of engagement at meetings and asked how it could be addressed by the society.
- M. Mackey extended thanks to E. Gill and C. Mulcahy for all the work they do to promote mathematics.

• R. Higgs extended a vote of thanks to the outgoing president.

Report by David Malone, Secretary. david.malone@nuim.ie