Sinéad M. Ryan

School of Mathematics • Trinity College, Dublin 2, Ireland •

Phone (+353) 1 8961267 • E-MAIL ryan@maths.tcd.ie • Web www.maths.tcd.ie • Orcid ID: 0000-0004-0811-7038

Academic Positions

2016 - Present	Chair of Theoretical High Energy Physics, Trinity College, Dublin
2012 - 2016	Professor in Mathematics, Trinity College Dublin
2006 - 2012	Senior Lecturer, School of Mathematics, Trinity College Dublin
2000 - 2006	Lecturer (tenured), School of Mathematics, Trinity College Dublin
1999 - 2000	Lecturer in High Performance Computing, School of Mathematics,
	Trinity College Dublin
1996 - 1999	Research Associate, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Illinois,
	USA

Professional Preparation

1993 - 1996	Ph.D., The University of Edinburgh, U.K. Advisor: Prof R. Kenway.
1992 - 1993	M.Sc. (Research), University College Cork. Advisor: Prof N. O
	Murchadha.
1988 - 1992	B.Sc. (Hons. 1 st class), University College Cork, Ireland

.....

Honorary Positions & Awards

2020	Raymond and Beverly Sackler Distinguished Visiting Professor, Institute des Hautes Études, France.
2017	August-Wilhelm Scheer Visiting Professor, Institute for Advanced Study, Technical University Munich, Germany.
2016/17	Visiting Fellow, Clare Hall College and Visiting Scientist, University of Cambridge, UK.
2007/08 2003	Visiting Scientist, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, USA. Elected to Fellowship, Trinity College Dublin.

Synergistic Activities – commissions of trust (selected last 5 years)

2021 - Present	Member, International Advisory Board of Mainz Institute for Theoretical Physics.
2019 - 2021	Vice-Chair of the EuroHPC Infrastructure Advisory Group
	(https://eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/governance.html)
2019 - Present	Head of School, School of Mathematics, Trinity College Dublin
2017 - 2018	Chair of the PRACE Scientific Steering Committee (http://www.prace-
	ri.eu/organisation/)
2016 - Present	Chair of the PANDA Theory Advisory Group
	(https://panda.gsi.de/content/theory-advisory-group)
2015 - Present	Member, Governing Board, School of Theoretical Physics, Dublin
	Institute of Advanced Study
2014 - Present	Founding academic partner of the Walton Club (www.tcd.ie/waltonclub)

2000 - Present International Advisory Committee of Symposium in Lattice Field Theory Journal, Grant Referee and Institutional reviewer for PRD, PRL, PLB. DOE, NSF & INCITE (US); NSERC (Canada), STFC (UK), European Commission.

Synergistic Activities – conference service (from 2018)

2021	Co-Chair, ECT* Trento, Italy. <i>Real-time challenges in strongly interacting systems</i> .
2021	Conference Co-Chair, <u>PASC21</u> , Geneva, Switzerland.
2021	Program Co-Chair, eScience2021, Innsbruck, Austria.
2019	Organiser, HMI Workshop. Lattice QCD in the 2020s.
2021/20/19/18	Member of the International Advisory Committee for the International
	Symposium on Lattice Field Theory.
2020/19/18	Member of the Organising Committee, European High Performance
	Computing Summit Week in Ljubljana, Poznan & Porto.
2018	Physics Program Co-Chair PASC18, Basel Switzerland
2018	Conference Chair. Digital Infrastructure for Research. Lisbon, Portugal.
2018	Local organiser. XIIIth Quark Confinement and the Hadron Spectrum,
	Ireland.

Invited Plenaries, Reviews & Masterclasses (accepted only, last 5 years)

2021	<i>Exotic Heavy Mesons from Lattice QCD</i> , Bonn Germany. <i>Mass in the Standard Model</i> , ECT* Trento Italy;
2020	Hadron Spectroscopy on the Lattice, Valencia, Spain
2019	<i>Quarkonium Working Group Conference,</i> Torino, Italy; <i>ICT Day</i> , Helsinki, Finland.
2018	<i>Quantum Universe</i> , Symposium & Masterclass, Groningen, Netherlands; <i>Swedish Nuclear Physics Academy</i> Annual Conference
2017	Lattice Meets Continuum, Siegen Germany; Masterclass on Hadron Spectroscopy Theory, GSI Germany
2016	Charm 2016, Bologna Italy; Meson 2016, Krakow, Poland; National Nuclear Physics Graduate School, MIT USA;
2015	Resonances in QCD, GSI Darmstadt, Germany; Light Cone 2015, INFN Frascati, Italy. European Nuclear Physics Conference plenary & masterclass Groningen, Netherlands.

Graduate Students (last 8 years)

J.Foley (TCD), R. Morrin (TCD), F. McElroy (TCD), T. Harris (TCD), C. O'Hara (TCD), L. Gayer (TCD).

Postdoctoral Fellows (past 10 years, current positions indicated)

A. Feo (Parma U.), G. Burgio (Tuebingen), A. O Cais (FZ Juelich), J.K. Juge (Pacific U.), M. Oktay (Utah), J.I. Skullerud (Maynooth U.), L. Liu (Chinese Academy of Sciences), B. Leder (Humboldt U,), C. Thomas (Cambridge U.), D. Vadacchino (from 2020), J. Greene (from 2021).