IMS President's Report 2013

I took over as President of the Society from Steve Wills in January 2013. The new Vice-President became Michael Mackey. Other changes in the Committee are: Sinead Breen completed her term of office as Treasurer and Götz Pfeiffer (NUI Galway) will take over from the start of 2014. New members of the Committee as of 1 January 2014 are Paul Barry (IoT Waterford), Rupert Levene (UCD), Anca Mustata (UCC) and James O'Shea (NUI Maynooth) replacing Steve Buckley, Chris Hills, Tony Wickstead and Steve Wills. Our thanks go to the outgoing members of the committee for their dedicated work.

At their AGM in August 2013, the Society decided to adopt the Publishing Code of Practice of the European Mathematical Society which was prepared by the EMS Ethics Committee under the chairmanship of Arne Jensen (Aalborg). The details of the code can be found at

http://www.euro-math-soc.eu/system/files/code_of_practice.pdf

The Committee appointed the following members of the Society on the Editorial Board of the Bulletin, in order to assist the Editor Tony O'Farrell in his job: Tom Carroll (UCC), James Cruickshank (NUI Galway), Ian Short (Open University) and Thomas Unger (UCD). They have all taken up their work in the meantime.

As President I represented the Society at the Annual Meeting of the Presidents of the National Member Societies of the EMS which was held in conjunction with an EMS-DMF Joint Mathematical Weekend at Aarhus University (Denmark) on the weekend 5-7 April 2013. This year, the Danish Mathematical Society (DMF) celebrated its 140th anniversary, and a presentation on the DMF was given by the society's president Bjarne Toft. Details of the programme can be found at http://projects.au.dk/emsweekend/. The presidents' meeting took place on 6 April; a detailed programme, a report by the EMS secretary Stephen Huggett as well as slides of the presentations given can be found at http://projects.au.dk/presidents-ems/

Highlights of the meeting were a discussion of the EMS Publishing Code of Practice; a presentation by Martin Raussen on the (very

well-designed) EMS website; discussions on the developments concerning research funding for Mathematics at a European level (Horizon 2020)—nothing too positive to report here (e.g, the ESF is in the process of winding down); a report by Bernard Teissier on the work of the Publications Committee (especially the question of Open Access); together with several presentation of national representatives on a variety of topics. The next meeting of the presidents will be held in April 2014 in Istanbul.

Later in April 2013 the Executive Committee held a weekend meeting in Belfast, following an invitation by the IMS President. (This was entirely funded by the EMS but for a dinner for about twelve people hosted by the IMS.) I was only present at part of the meeting (most of the agenda was on confidential matters of the EMS) and I gave a short presentation on the history and the work of our Society.

The Fergus Gaines Cup 2013 was presented to Oisín Faust by Eoghan Flanagan at the Society's Annual Meeting at NUI Maynooth. **Conference Support.** The Society supported the following conferences in 2013:

- 27th Automorphic Forms Workshop, UCD, March 11–14, 2013
- Non-linear Analysis of Water Waves, UCC, April 25–26, 2013
- Representations and Finite Fields Conference (in honour of Professor Rod Gow), UCD, May 28, 2013
- Complex Analysis and Approximation (in honour of Professor Tony O'Farrell), NUIM, June 17–19, 2013
- Irish Geometry Conference, NUIM, June 20–21, 2013
- 16th Galway Topology Colloquium, NUIG, July 8–10, 2013

Future Meetings: Next year's Annual Meeting will take on September 5 and 6, 2014 at Queen's University Belfast, and in 2015 we will meet in UCC. Details of the Belfast meeting will appear at http://ims2014.martinmathieu.net/

Martin Mathieu, President 1 December 2013