### DEPARTMENTAL NEWS

This section contains important news (such as permanent appointments, retirements, prizes awarded, etc.) as supplied by the Mathematics Departments of Universities in Ireland.

The Editor does not take any responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided.

#### University College Cork

Newly appointed to UCC were: Dr Christian Ewald, Senior Lecturer in Financial Mathematics, since September 2008; Dr Edward Lee, one-year research contract, since September 2008; Dr Jesse Ratzkin, one-year research contract, since September 2008.

On the other hand, Professor Brian Twomey retired in May 2008 after many years of service. His retirement was marked by a wellattended conference on Complex Function Theory held at UCC in April and supported, in part, by the IMS.

### **Trinity College Dublin**

Dr Rupert Levene was appointed to a J. L. Synge Instructorship at TCD for 2008–10. Dr Derek Kitson was appointed to a temporary lectureship. Pietro Giudice, Anton Ilderton, Osvaldo Santillán and Ryo Suzuki were appointed as postdocs.

Dr Donal O'Donovan was elected Head of the School of Mathematics, following the completion of Professor Samson Shatashvili's term as Head. Dr Richard Timoney was promoted to Associate Professor while Drs Michael Peardon, John Stalker and Dmitri Zaitsev became Senior Lecturers.

Profesor Adrian Constantin resigned the Erasmus Smith's Chair of Mathematics at TCD (which he held from 2004) to take up a Chair in Vienna.

# University College Dublin

Professor Tom Laffey (UCD) and Mr Gordon Lessels (UL) were each presented with a clock by the IMS in November, on the occasion of the presentation of the Fergus Gaines' cup, in recognition of their long and continued work with the Irish Mathematical Olympiad team.

# National University of Ireland Galway

Dr Aisling McCluskey, Mathematics Department, NUI Galway, won a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching.

### University of Limerick

New postdoctoral researchers in MACSI, UL are: Marguerite Robinson, who completed her PhD at UL; Jonathan Ward, who completed his PhD at the University of Bristol; Joanna Mason, who completed her PhD at the University of Bristol.