# Minutes of the Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society Annual General Meeting 5th September 2003

The Irish Mathematical Society held its Annual General Meeting from 1.15 to 2 p.m. on Friday 5th September 2003 in NUI, Galway.

There were a total of 21 members at the meeting.

## 1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of December 2002 were approved and signed.

# 2. Matters Arising

Details about the Fergus Gaines cup have still to be followed up.

#### 3. Correspondence and New Members

R. Higgs reported that there had only been routine correspondence since December, with the exception of a letter from the RSME (Spain) with whom we have agreed to enter into a reciprocity agreement.

The following have been approved as ordinary or student members of the Irish Mathematical Society: Ms Sandra Spillane, (DIT Kevin Street); Dr Ivan Todorov, (Queen's Belfast); Dr Colum Watt (DIT Kevin Street); Dr Bernd Kreussler, (Mary Immaculate College, Limerick); Mr Finbarr Ó Donovan (Computer Science, UCD); Mr John Kee (Finn Valley Oil, Co. Donegal); Mr Edward Appah (Kaiserslauten).

# 4. The Bulletin

The Editor presented issues 50 and 51. Issue 50 contains the invited talks from the All Ireland Algebra Days. A new design is featured on the front cover of both issues, and R. Higgs is to write to the artist to thank her. The Editor will also now insist that articles are submitted in  $T_{\rm E}X$ . He asks Heads of Department to submit material for the Departmental News pages, and also details of any conferences to be held locally. Updated addresses need to be sent to the Treasurer, David Wraith. The Editor, Martin Mathieu was thanked for the work he has put into the Bulletin.

#### 5. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented his final report for 2002, which was accepted.

# 6. Election of Officers

The following were elected, unopposed, to the Committee:

Committee Member	Proposer	Seconder
D. Wraith (Treasurer)	R. Timoney	G. Lessells
A. Ó Shea (Secretary)	E. Gath	K. Hutchinson
N. Ó Sullivan	S. Dineen	G. Lessells
T. Carroll	S. Dineen	D. Hurley

Thanks were expressed to R. Higgs for his role as Honorary Secretary over the last six years.

The total number of years each existing member will have been on the Committee as of 31st December 2003 will be: E. Gath (5), T. Ó Farrell (5), M. Mathieu (4), S. Dineen (3), D. Gilbert (3), P. Kirwan (3), G. Lessells (3), D. Wraith (2), A. Ó Shea (2), M. Ó Reilly (2), D. Armitage and J. Cruickshank (1).

E. Gath, R. Higgs and T. Murphy will leave the Committee on 1st January 2004 and M. Mathieu will be co-opted for another year as Editor (since all 12 electable positions are filled).

The following will then have one more year of office:

G. Lessells (President), M. Ó Reilly (as Vice-President), T. Ó Farrell,

S. Dineen, D. Gilbert, P. Kirwan, D. Armitage, J. Cruickshank.

### 7. Any Other Business

David Armitage distributed leaflets about the BMC to be held in Belfast in April 2004. The possibility of holding the 2005 September Conference of the IMS in DCU is to be investigated by N. Ó Sullivan.

In general it was agreed that NUI, Galway had organized a good conference covering a variety of topics. Formal thanks were offered to the organizers.

## 8. Next Ordinary Meeting

The next Ordinary Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society will be held in Dublin in December.

Russell Higgs, University College Dublin